Please Sign In to download documents and to search the Virtual Library.

Research and Policy Committee

Mandate: The Research and Policy Committee is a committee of MFOA. The Committee is established to provide advice to MFOA staff regarding:

  • MFOA policy initiatives;
  • Municipal finance research questions;
  • Opportunities for partnerships with other organizations conducting research; and
  • Potential political sensitivities of research analysis, findings, and recommendations.


  • Ensure MFOA led research is relevant to the municipal sector.
  • Ensure MFOA led research initiatives are not duplicating efforts of others in Ontario.
  • Ensure research findings and recommendations are practical.
  • Act as ambassadors for MFOA products and services.

Committee Membership:
  • Committee members must be employed by an MFOA municipality.
  • The membership of the Committee shall not exceed 12, excluding MFOA representatives.
  • MFOA Executive Director and Manager of Policy are members of the Committee.
  • The term for a member is two years.
  • The membership reflects the diverse nature of municipalities.

  • A minimum of four meetings per year will be held.
  • Additional meetings may be called at the recommendation of the Chair.
  • Meetings will be held via conference call or online.
  • MFOA staff will endeavour to provide members, one week in advance of a meeting, with an agenda and all other supporting documents.
  • MFOA will provide all related secretariat support functions.

  • MFOA Executive Director


Kim Reger
City of Waterloo

Dan Wilson
Township of Centre Wellington

Heather Rainville
Municipality of Wawa

Heidi Bischof
Regional Municipality of Peel

Jennifer Hess
Town of Whitby

Manuela Batovanja
Municipality of Wawa

Nandini Syed
Town of Orangeville

Sherona Hollman
Regional Municipality of Peel

Trevor Pinn
Municipality of Clarington

Maggie Wang
City of Vaughan

Heidi Wong
City of Vaughan

Christine Duong

Suzanna Dieleman


Recent Job Postings

View All     Post a Job