MFOA strongly encourages its members to seek recognition for excellence in municipal financial practices by participating in awards programs.

MFOA Excellence in Municipal Finance Award

This prestigious award, presented at the fall MFOA conference, annually recognizes an individual within the MFOA membership who has made a significant contribution to, and demonstrated leadership in, the field of municipal finance.


Potential winners should meet the following criteria:

  1. Hold a current membership in the Municipal Finance Officers' Association of Ontario or be employed by an MFOA member municipality;
  2. Practiced in the field of municipal finance for at least 10 years;
  3. Participated on committees or workshops dealing with topics relevant to municipal finance;
  4. Become involved in various professional and/or political associations in the Province in Ontario;
  5. Demonstrated leadership in the field and "Excellence in Municipal Finance".
Award Selection Committee

The MFOA Board will receive nominations and/or make recommendations regarding individuals who qualify for the award. The Board will select the recipient of the award.

How to Enter

Complete and sign the Entry Form. Where a person wishes to enter more than one eligible candidate, a separate entry form must be completed. There is no entry fee.

Send Entry form to:

Julie Turcsanyi
By email
Or Fax 416-362-9226

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Julie
by phone at (416) 362-9001 x224 or or Heather Brown, Manager of Accounting and Corporate Services at (416) 362-9001 x237 or

Previous recipients of this award

2023 Winner:
  • Gary Scandlan, Watson & Associates Economists Ltd.
2022 Winner:
  • Dan Wilson, Township of Centre Wellington
2021 Winner:
  • Ken Nix, Township of Scugog
2020 Winner:
  • No Winner
2019 Winner:
  • Nancy Taylor, Region of Durham
2018 Winner:
  • Dan Cowin, Former Executive Director, MFOA
2017 Winner:
  • Mike St. Amant, Treasurer, City of Toronto
2016 Winner:
  • James Gates, Treasurer & Deputy CEO, County of Middlesex
2014 Winners:
  • Onorio Colucci, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer, City of Windsor
  • Connie Mesih, Manager, Revenue and Taxation, City of Mississauga
  • Shelley Stedall, Treasurer, Director of Corporate Services, Township of North Dumfries
2012 Winners:
  • Desiree Kennedy, City Treasurer, City of Kingston
  • Cam Weldon, Deputy City Manager, CFO, City of Toronto
2011 Winners:
  • Janice Baker, City Manager, City of Mississauga
  • Len Brittain, Director, Corporate Finance City of Toronto
  • Heather Douglas, Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais
2010 Winners:
  • Lloyd Russell, Commissioner of Finance & Regional Treasurer Regional Municipality of York
  • Gil Paterson, Director of Corporate Services/Treasurer City of Pickering
2009 Winner:
  • Terry Corrigan, The Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants
2008 Winners:
  • Calvin Barrett Director, Financial Services & Development Financing Region of Waterloo
  • Joseph P. Pennachetti Deputy City Manager & Chief Financial Officer City of Toronto (at the time of the award)
  • Joseph Rinaldo General Manager, Finance & Corporate Services City of Hamilton
  • Steve Zorbas, City Treasurer, City of Burlington
  • Calvin Hawke, Supervisor of Budgets & Finance, County of Brant
  • Shafee Bacchus, Commissioner of Corporate Services, Region of Niagara
  • Allan Ross, Commisioner of Finance, City of Brampton
  • Peter J. Marshall, Principal Hemson Consulting
  • Jim Schaefer, Treasurer, County of Wellington
  • Robert Johnstone, Treasurer, County of Haldimand-Norfolk
  • Al Gunn, Partner, Deloitte & Touche
  • Gil Paterson, Director of Corporate Services/Treasurer, City of Pickering

Peter J. Marshall Municipal Innovation Awards

The Peter J. Marshall Awards honours municipal governments that demonstrate excellence in operating efficiency and effectiveness through alternative service delivery initiatives and partnerships. If you are engaged in any interesting ASD, P3 or other arrangements that you think merit recognition, please consider making an application. The Peter J. Marshall Award is administered by AMO.

GFOA Distinguished Budget Awards Program

The Government Finance Officers Association of the U.S. and Canada (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Awards Program provides recognition for outstanding budget documents that meet the needs of decision-makers and citizens. Further information about the program can be obtained at the GFOA website at

GFOA Canadian Award for Financial Reporting (CAnFR)

This award is designed to encourage and assist Canadian governments in producing high quality annual financial reports. Further information about the program can be obtained at the GFOA website at

Even if you are not interested in applying to either of the GFOA programs this year, please consider volunteering as a reviewer. Doing so will expose you to the innovations of others and provide ideas for improving your own budget documents. To learn more, contact Jim Phillips at GFOA at (312) 977-9700.
The 2004 award was sponsored by OMEX and MFOA gratefully acknowledges their support.


Recent Job Postings

View All     Post a Job