MFOA's Subject Matter Experts

We compiled a directory of experts to allow for easy contact between members in key fields. Reach out to your peers to get the technical information and answers you need!

Instructions: Use the database of SMEs to find colleagues with areas of expertise that match your interests or questions and contact them. 

Need More? Browse the Virtual Library or check out our Training Department's Workshops, Webinars, and Conferences.

Accounting and Financial Reporting

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

Lorraine Laplante

Accounting, Financial Reporting (FIR & Statements)

lorraine.laplante@greatersudbury.ca

Arun Chulliyil

Financial Reporting, Gas Tax, Tangible Capital Assets (PSAB 3150), Revenue, Expenditure, MPMPs

905-476-4305 x 2421

John Innes

Provincial Offences Act accounting (including collections), Report writing (how to craft an argument in favour of the result you are seeking), Budgeting‎

john.innes@county-lambton.on.ca

519-845-5417

519-381-6666

Chris Paquet

Taxation, Payroll, Budgeting, AP/AR, Reporting, Best Practices

chris.paquet@diamondmunicipal.com

Sue Bragg

Financial Reporting

sbragg@gaviller.com

Kevin Travers

PSAB Interpretation and Implementation, Other Financial Reporting Standards

ktravers@kpmg.ca

Altaf Sarangi

GST/HST Transaction Planning, CRA Audit Defence, GST/HST Overpayment Analysis, Real Estate Transactions

asarangi@collinsbarrow.com

John Herhalt

Accounting, Budgeting, Reporting, Financing, Internal Control, Utilities

johnherhalt@gmail.com

905-893-9655

647-938-8215

 

 Adam Bell  Shared Risk Pension Plan Accounting  adam.bell@fredericton.ca

506-460-2182

Internal Financial Management and Administration

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

John Innes

Provincial Offences Act accounting (including collections), Report Writing, Budgeting

john.innes@county-lambton.on.ca 

519-845-5417

519-381-6666

Andre Cote

Fiscal Planning, Tax Policy, Public Administration and Local Governance

andre.cote@utoronto.ca 

416-523-2683

Chris Paquet

Taxation, Payroll, Budgeting, AP/AR, Reporting, Best Practices

chris.paquet@diamondmunicipal.com 

 

Stefan Krezeczunowicz

Development Charges, Growth Management, Land Economics

stefank@hemson.com

416-593-5090 x38

Michael Newsome

Municipal Budgeting mnewsome@questica.com 

John Herhalt

Accounting, Budgeting, Reporting, Financing, Internal Control, Utilities

johnherhalt@gmail.com

905-893-9655

647-938-8215

 

Legislation and Regulations

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

Scott Mathers

Development Charges Policy and Implementation

smathers@london.ca 

Ken Nix

Development Charges, Financial Planning, Asset Management, Legislation, Revenue, Infrastructure, Services, Performance

nixk@whitby.ca

905-430-4314

John Innes

Provincial Offences Act accounting (including collections), Report Writing, Budgeting john.innes@county-lambton.on.ca

519-845-5417

519-381-6666

 

 

Almos Tassonyi

Property Taxation Policy, Legislation and Regulation almos.tassonyi@alumni.utoronto.ca 

 

Stefan Krezeczunowicz

Development Charges, Growth Management, Land Economics

stefank@hemson.com

416-593-5090 x38

Revenue, Finance and Financial Planning

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

Almos Tassonyi

Property Taxation Policy, Legislation and Regulation almos.tassonyi@alumni.utoronto.ca

Andre Cote

Fiscal Planning, Tax Policy, Public Administration and Local Governance

andre.cote@utoronto.ca 

416-523-2683

Arun Chulliyil

Financial Reporting, Gas Tax, Tangible Capital Assets (PSAB 3150), Revenue, Expenditures, MPMPs 905-476-4305 x2421

 

Jennifer Yarnell

Debenture Issues, Investments, Budgeting for Debt Charges jennifer.yarnell@niagararegion.ca

905-685-4225 x3330

 

Stefan Krezeczunowicz

Development Charges, Growth Management, Land Economics

stefank@hemson.com

416-593-5090 x38

Scott Mathers

Development Charges Policy and Implementation smathers@london.ca 

Ken Nix

Development Charges, Financial Planning, Asset Management, Legislation, Revenue, Infrastructure, Services, Performance nixk@whitby.ca

905-430-4314
 John Innes Provincial Offences Act accounting, Report Writing, Budgeting  john.innes@county-lambton.on.ca

519-845-5417

519-381-6666 
 Joanne Farnand Strategic Financial Analysis, Infrastructure Planning (including investment business cases), Transit and Transportation, Long Range Planning   joanne.farnand@ottawa.ca
 Chris Paquet Taxation, Payroll, Budgeting, AP/AR, Reporting, Best Practices  chris.paquet@diamondmunicipal.com 
 Michael Morris

 Finance, Insurance mmorris@cl-na.com 
 Jeff Oberman

Tax Registrations, Tax Sales  jeffoberman@realtax.ca  
 Mark Gilbert Infrastructure Financing, Capital Budgeting, Service Delivery Alternatives, Municipal Revenues, Long-Term Financial Planning   mark.gilbert@dal.ca

Services, Infrastructure and Performance

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

Scott Mathers

Development Charges Policy and Implementation

smathers@london.ca 

Ken Nix

Development Charges, Financial Planning, Asset Management, Legislation, Revenue, Infrastructure, Services, Performance

nixk@whitby.ca

905-430-4314

John Innes

Provincial Offences Act accounting (including collections), Report Writing, Budgeting john.innes@county-lambton.on.ca

519-845-5417

519-381-6666

 

 

Peter Asselstine

Infrastructure Financing Options for Municipalities peter.asselstine@infrastructureontario.ca 

416-325-8459

 

Joanne Farnand

Strategic Financial Analysis, Infrastructure Planning (including investment business cases), Transit and Transportation, Long Range Planning joanne.farnand@ottawa.ca
 John Herhalt Accounting, Budgeting, Reporting, Financing, Internal Control, Utilities  johnherhalt@gmail.com

905-893-9655

647-938-9655 
 Mark Gilbert Infrastructure Financing, Capital Budgeting, Service Delivery Alternatives, Municipal Revenues, Long-Term Financial Planning  mark.gilbert@dal.ca 

Other

Name

Specific areas of expertise

Contact

Peter Asselstine

Infrastructure Financing Options for Municipalities peter.asselstine@infrastructureontario.ca

416-325-8459

Ken Nix

Development Charges, Financial Planning, Asset Management, Legislation, Revenue, Infrastructure, Services, Performance

nixk@whitby.ca

905-430-4314

Andre Cote

Fiscal Planning, Tax Policy, Public Administration and Local Governance andre.cote@utoronto.ca

416-523-2683

 

 

Paul Williamson

Fixed Assets, Asset Management, Work Management, GIS Software Solutions, Financial Integration pwilliamson@worktech.ca

647-382-9616

905-309-6054 x30

 

Tammy Carruthers

Business Process Reviews and Transformation, Construction Auditing, Fraud Prevention and Investigations, Information Technology (enterprise resource planning system), LEAN Six Sigma, Project Management, Risk Management

tcarruthers@wscsconsulting.com 

613-267-7521

 

Employment Opportunities

 
View All